Free, Open-Mind, Responsible, Creative & Egalitarian

An Afternoon in Rooftop

It was a clear afternoon, in a rooftop of a shopping mall in Jogja. I was doing a location scouting with a fellow photographer of mine. It is an open parking area there, and I just couldn’t help my eyes to find interesting subjects to shoot.

I simply grabbed my BlackBerry 9700, activated the camera and got myself busy shooting.

Harmonic Disharmony. I found sets of chiller-generators and found that the stripes build a good pattern. Composed in diagonal and make sure the perspective worked out for it. Photo by: Kristupa Saragih

Jungle of Poles. I found that some antennas, radio repeaters and cellular transmitters build an interesting vertical lines. What I did was simply line them up to combine a good composition. Photo by: Kristupa Saragih

Exit or Escape? The signs were also interesting. I used a focusing-lock feature in BlackBerry 9700 to make off-center composition possible. Photo by: Kristupa Saragih

May I Have One, Please? One of important keys to create eye-catching photograph is to shoot in unsual angle and avoid eye-level view. Shadow works out great for that purpose. All you have to do is to keep it simple. Photo by: Kristupa Saragih

Lonely. This is an actual view of a parking lot in rooftop. I saw a group of photographers doing a model photoshoot. Photo by: Kristupa Saragih

Camera in mobile phone is simple. There are no shutter speed and aperture settings, as simple as point-and-shoot. You may concentrate more on subjects around you and attract your attention. But you should always keep in mind that the important things on making pictures are: idea, light and composition.

One response

  1. Agree. Camera in mobile phone is so easy; knowing its lacks makes shots better😀

    August 17, 2010 at 1:35 AM

Leave a Reply

